Student Journalists Awarded at Southern Interscholastic Press Association


Both the Tribal Tribune and the Legend won the Scroggins’ Mark of Distinction (formerly best in state) at the Southern Interscholastic Press Association award ceremony on Sunday, March 4.
The annual convention, held March 2-4 in Columbia, also gave All-Southern ratings to Tribal Tribune, the Legend and the Outlet, the highest rating awarded by the SIPA.
Tribe Talk also received a Superior Rating.
Numerous Wando students earned awards for individual pieces and projects. They are as follows:

Tribal Tribune

First Place, Feature Writing: Ryan Rothkopf (graduate)
First Place, Review Writing: Eva Chillura
First Place, Sports Writing: Annie Wright
Second Place, Sports Writing: Alejandra Robinson
Third Place, Feature Writing: Liz Hipes
Third Place, Review Writing: Zach Green
Third Place, Online Feature Writing: Allie Senf
Third Place, Feature Cutline: Adam Duffy
Third Place, Sports Cutline: Abby Wilhite
Best in Show, Front Page: Lydia Gardner and Zach Green
Best in Show, News Page: Patrick Aherne
Best in Show, Sports Page: Claudia Ottinger
Best in Show, Academic Photography: Jack Rogers
Best in Show, Sports Photography: Elijah Bull
Team Onsite Production, Best Single Photograph: Eva Chillura
Award of Merit, Entertainment Page: Abby Wilhite
Award of Merit, Features Page: Ananda Kobierowski
Award of Merit, Newspaper Design Portfolio: Lydia Gardner
Award of Merit, Academic Photography: Kiki Moss
Award of Merit, News Photography: Carly Knight-Carrier
Honorable Mention, Art Portfolio: Patrick Aherne
Honorable Mention, Centerspread: Lydia Gardner and Laurel Thorp
Honorable Mention, Op/Ed Page: Jack Rogers
Honorable Mention, Pictorial/Scenic Photography: Jack Rogers
Honorable Mention, Student Life Photography: Jack Rogers


First Place, Community Writing: Faith Dutton
First Place, Groups Writing: Mollie Ping
Second Place, Sports Writing: Bailey VanderVeen
Third Place, Academics Writing: Greyson Webb
Best in Show, Club Photography: Frank Jeffries
Best in Show, Photography Portfolio: Frank Jeffries
Best in Show, Alternative Copy Spread: Legare Kerrison
Best in Show, Section Divider: Abbey Grace Byrd and Brooke Fletcher
Best in Show, Yearbook Design Portfolio: Erin O’Leary
Team Onsite Production Yearbook Overall Winner: Mollie Ping, Merritt Redden, Livi Lesch, and Olivia Wander
Team Onsite Production Yearbook Copy Winner: Mollie Ping, Merritt Redden, Livi Lesch, and Olivia Wander
Award of Merit, First-Year Student Photography: Olivia Wander
Award of Merit, Sports Photography: Frank Jeffries
Award of Merit, Sports Reaction Photography: Nathan Warner (graduate)
Award of Merit, Academic Spread: May Nguyen
Award of Merit, Student Life Spread: Legare Kerrison
Award of Merit, Title Page: Abbey Grace Byrd, Brooke Fletcher, and Olivia Wander
Honorable Mention, Sports Photography: Frank Jeffries
Honorable Mention, Academic Photography: Olivia Wander
Honorable Mention, Computer Special Effects Photography: Ry Ulmer
Honorable Mention, Alternative Copy Spread: Kamryn Frontz
Honorable Mention, Clubs Spread: Sydney McPhail
Honorable Mention, Sports Spread: Gabi Reed
Elizabeth Dickey Distinguished Service Award: Phillip Caston

Tribe Talk

Overall Superior rating
Best in Show, Anchor: Elli Grace Goodwin
Best in Show, Podcast: Connor Griffin
Award of Merit, Anchor: Valeria Hughen
Award of Merit, Music Video: Amelia Walker, Selena Colon, Ethan Delfino, and Lizzie Grosso
Award of Merit, News Story: Finn Carlin
Award of Merit, PSA: Paige Scharling
Award of Merit, Reporter: Devina Patel
Honorable Mention, Anchor: Alex Bavosa
Honorable Mention, Videography: Blake Ellis and Sydney Register
Team Onsite Production Honorable Mention, Anchors: Troy Dassing and Alex Bavosa
Mary Inglis Regional Scholarship Recipient: Sydney Register

The Outlet

Award of Merit, Table of Contents: Adelle Lacy
Honorable Mention, Fiction Spread: Adelle Lacy